Coigreach Trilogy by RJ Erskine

Although fiction, the first two books of the trilogy are based on true events in the author’s years of practice in a rural Pennsylvania community.

Casting Demons Into Swine

The career of Malcolm Cromarty, D.V.M., was finally settling into a routine, despite his recent divorce and being new to the valley. After all, life among cows, stoic dairy farmers, a steadfast dog, and an occasional ‘wee dram’ of single malt tends to be rather mundane. However, the daily grind veers off course with a rabies outbreak that doesn’t stay on message with the textbooks. To cope with this challenge, Malcolm must rely on a patchwork of local inhabitants to guide him through the peculiar culture in which he lives. However, with each passing day, he stumbles deeper into a community that holds science, change, and outsiders under suspicion, and a family feud with a dark and malevolent past.
Purchase Book

Prometheus Scorned

An unrelenting sun beats down, bringing drought and hardship to the farmers in the valley. As if lost crops weren’t enough, a series of suspicious barn fires pushes the community to its limits. In this novel, the sequel to Casting Demons Into Swine, Malcolm Cromarty, DVM, once again gets caught up in a complex web of suspense, strung across a deceptively tranquil valley, known for its singular culture and terrain. As the dry spell and fires continue, the unfolding tragedy seeps deeper into Malcolm’s life, forcing him to confront some of the darker elements of human nature. Although fiction, the books in this series are based on true events experienced by the author RJ Erskine, once a practicing veterinarian in a rural Pennsylvania community.
Purchase Book